USA Triathlon announces 2012 Athlete of the Year honours

by Erin Greene on 04 Feb, 2013 09:40 • EspaƱol

USA Triathlon recently announced its 2012 Elite Athletes of the Year, with top female honours going to Olympian Sarah Groff, while Jarrod Shoemaker was named the top male.

Groff, who finished fourth at the 2012 London Olympics and seventh in the overall ITU World Triathlon Series last year, has previously received the award. As the top-ranked American male in the ITU rankings, Shoemaker received the award for the first time since 2009.

Rising star Lukas Verzbicas was named the Rookie of the Year, alongside female counterpart Anna Battiata. Verzbicas became the youngest U.S. Athlete in history to win an ITU World Cup with his first-place finish in Banyoles, Spain.

Kaitlin Shiver Donner and Greg Billington repeated as the Under-23 Athletes of the Year. Donner earned her first ITU World cup podium in Cancun, while Billington recorded an eighth-place finish in the men’s U23 race at the 2012 ITU World Championships.

USA Paratriathlon Athlete of the Year accolades went to Patricia Walsh and Andre Kajlich. Walsh finished first in the women’s TRI-6 category at World Championships last year. Meanwhile, Kajlich is the top-ranked ITU TRI-1 male.

For the full list of USA Triathlon awards, please click here.

Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →